Lemon-Lime Bars

I will almost always choose limes over lemons, yet I still have an absurd weakness for lemon bars. The mixture of sweet and tangy just gets me every time.

Fortunately, I stumbled on a recipe for lemon-lime bars at Sweet and Savory Tooth, and I just had to make them immediately. Lemon bars with limes? Oh my gosh, I knew these were going to be good. I did a quick scan, realized I had all the ingredients, and started baking. I upped the lime ratio from the original recipe, and these turned out great. The crust tastes a little like a shortbread, and the filling is tangy and sweet. Delicious.

Ingredients

1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 t lime zest (zest of 2 limes)
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

FILLING:
4 eggs
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/3 cup lemon and lime juice (I used the juice of two limes and one lemon)
2 t lemon zest (zest of one large lemon)

Preheat your oven to 350°F and grease a 9×13 baking dish.

In a large bowl, cream your butter and powdered sugar.

Then add your lime zest, salt, and flour and blend until you see a thick dough form. (I forgot to take a picture of the dough).

Press the dough into the bottom of your pan. I recommend dotting the bottom with spoonfuls of dough, rather than dumping it all out in the middle of the pan. It’ll make spreading the dough more even and less frustrating. Once the crust is spread evenly along the bottom of the pan, bake it for 13-15 minutes, or until the edges are just golden brown.

Next, wash out your bowl and beaters, and make the filling.

Pour the eggs into the bowl and cream with the sugar. I recommend beating the eggs gently first, as it’ll make the final product more creamy. Add the rest of your ingredients, and beat until frothy.

Pour the filling over the hot crust, and put back in the oven for 20-25 minutes. It should be firmly set when you take it out of the oven.

Let cool for a few minutes, then sift powdered sugar over the top. Cut into squares, and refrigerate.

I totally cheated though and ate one warm. They’re still delicious, so by all means, give into your sweet tooth.

This entry was posted in Dessert and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lemon-Lime Bars

  1. anabela martins says:

    So good 😉

  2. They look so vibrant! I love lemony desserts so these sound really delicious 🙂

  3. Sophia says:

    I’ve seen so many recipes lately for lemon desserts! So far, I think yours must be the best! The other one I really like is Ina Garten’s Lemon Yogurt Cake – http://www.recipe4living.com/recipes/ina_garten_s_lemon_yogurt_cake.htm – What do you think? Thanks again for sharing this delicious lemon recipe!

    • sevencloves says:

      Thanks for your kind words! I’ve actually had a version of Ina Garten’s Lemon Yogurt Cake, baked by some friends of mine, and it’s wonderful. It’s a more sophisticated cake than the lemon squares, certainly, and one that if you enjoy the interplay of sweet and tart, you should absolutely bake.

Leave a Reply

